Within UbiOps, projects are the place to combine your team's work on a (data science) project. A project can hold multiple Deployments and Pipelines. This allows you to keep your work organized.
Create a project¶
If you don't have a project yet, you can create one by clicking on the [+ create new project] button shown in the popup in the user interface.
If you already have a project, you can add another by clicking on the build icon in the top left corner, right next to the project selector (only if you are an organization admin). Go to the Projects page by using the left navigation bar. You can create a new project by clicking the [+ Add project] icon. A new row will be added to the overview. Fill in the name of the new project and click the [✓] icon to save. The name of the project should be globally unique: you will receive an error message if the project name you chose is already in use.
Project permission settings¶
UbiOps uses an extensive permission system to control access to objects. By default, a simplified permission system is enabled for projects, which contains only high level (e.g., project level) roles and permissions. This system should be sufficient for most use cases but has a few limitations. For instance, with this system it is not possible to create custom roles.
If you need more fine-grained permissions, enable advanced permissions for the project by updating the project in the Projects section in the WebApp. This way you will be able to use our full permission system.
Project compute limits¶
The subscription of an organization limits the compute credits that deployments in that organization can use. It is possible to set a limit per project as well to limit the usage in a specific project. This can prevent one project from draining the entire organization compute budget.
When creating or updating a project, a limit can be provided. Projects are then suspended/activated according to this limit. If the organization limit is reached, the project is suspended automatically.
The organization admins may also suspend a project manually to prevent further usage in a project.
Some actions are disallowed for suspended projects, as it is the case for suspended/cancelled organizations.